Independent Schools (Section 41)

Information logo

Approved List of Independent Educational Institutions, Independent Special Schools and Post-16 Institutions

Section 41 of the Children and Families Act 2014 allows the Secretary of State by order to publish a list of approved independent educational institutions, independent special schools and post-16 institutions for the purposes of satisfying Section 38 (Preparation of an Education, Health and Care (EHC) plan by local authorities) of the Act. Institutions can only be included on the list with their consent.

The Children and Families Act places specific duties upon institutions on the approved list:

  • institutions on the approved list must “have regard” to the SEN Code of Practice;
  • institutions on the approved list have a reciprocal duty to co-operate with the local authority on arrangements for children and young people with SEN;
  • local authorities’ published local offer must refer to the institutions on the approved list;

The list will be updated termly and published on GOV.UK

Who to contact

Section 41 List at the Government website
Scan to visit this website

Page last reviewed: 18/08/2020


Save to My Shortlist
Share on Facebook
Share on WhatsApp
Is this information correct?
Skip back to top of page