Disabled Persons Bus Pass

Concessionary Fares Scheme - Bus Pass Information - Disabled Persons

The national bus pass scheme allows all eligible persons to apply for a concessionary travel pass enabling them to travel for free on off-peak local bus services.

There are two categories of bus pass:

  • older person
  • disabled

Pass holders travelling anywhere within the Tees Valley (Middlesbrough, Stockton, Darlington, Hartlepool, and Redcar & Cleveland) can travel free of charge after 9.30am on weekdays and at any time on weekends, on production of the bus pass.

In the Tees Valley, pass holders will only need to pay a fixed fare of 30p for any journey starting before 9.30am, Mondays to Fridays. This fare will apply to all scheduled services operating within, from or between the areas covered by Hartlepool, Middlesbrough, Redcar & Cleveland and Stockton-on-Tees borough councils. Travel at any other time remains free of charge, and this fare price is only available to pass holders from the above authorities.

Travellers who hold passes issued by other authorities will need to pay full fare if they wish to travel before 9.30am or after 11.00pm, Monday to Friday.

If you want to travel further afield you'll need to contact the relevant local council to find out if they have any travel time restrictions. Your bus pass doesn't cover travel on private coaches or rail services.

Miiddlesbrough councils information 

Page last reviewed: 23/02/2023


Skip back to top of page